top of page

Resepi acar timun

I was on a roll for recipes this week. Check out all my back to back post on recipes okay? Love ya! Haha, btw this is my all time favourite combo so that is why I'm writing it back to back since I cooked it all the time. It starts with a little bit of childhood memories. Back then, in Kedah, I will only get to eat nasi tomato, ayam masak merah and acar timun during a wedding.

Usually, my gang and I (woahh I get a gang back then, since I had lots of siblings and cousins) would plan our holiday by attacking the wedding all around our kampung. Ahhh those good time. We will all walk in those blistering heat just before 12 o'clock (to be honest I didn't remember being hot at all haha) and book a long table for all of us.

I always look forward to a wedding that served ayam masak merah because that shows they were quite rich (to my childish standard) in that area. And air sirap. And their cheesy DJ. I rarely miss a wedding. Now, you can't even see me at all because I tend to shied away from wedding to avoid all those cepumas questions.

But still, I would totally rewang this 3 combo for my wedding haha, because it means so much and also means that I can relived a little bit of my childhood memory. :) Ok, now onto the recipe. Let's go!

Bahan bahan:

2 biji timun (dihiris nipis)

2 batang cili merah (dipotong menyerong)

1 biji bawang besar (dihiris bulat-bulat)

1/4 biji nenas (dipotong dadu)

1/2 cuka makan

5-6 sudu besar gula pasir (gula biasa also can)

Garam secukup rasa

1) Peel-of-time

Start by peeling off all the skin from the cucumbers and pineapple.

2) Cutting

Slice the cucumbers into thinly pieces. For the pineapple, just slice it into smaller pieces. And make sure to cut the chilies into long and thin slices. Do not forget to slice the onions into rings of onions (bulat-bulat).

3) Mix-them-all

Prepare a big mixing bowl. Put all the ingredients in starting with the cucumbers, chilies, pineapples and onions. Pour the vinegar in. Add the sugar and salt and mix well. I usually prefer to use my hand but if you have sensitive hands, wear a gloves or just mix it using a spatula.

Tip: I prefer mixing using my clean hand because in Malay's cooking there's something called air tangan that made one dishes from the same recipes taste so different because different people are making them.

4) Eat-time

Serve the acar with nasi tomato and ayam masak merah. You can find the recipes in my last blog posts.

xxOOxx

1/2 botol cuka makan

5-6 sudu besar gula pasir

Garam secukup rasa

bottom of page